Effective January 1, 2022, employers are required to provide eligible employees with up to 5 days of paid sick leave per year if they need to stay home because they are sick or injured. Employees are also entitled to 3 days of unpaid sick leave.

The paid sick leave entitlement applies to all employees covered by the Employment Standards Act (ESA), including part-time, temporary or casual employees.

Types of employees not covered

    • Federally regulated sectors
    • Self-employed workers or independent contractors
    • Employees in professions and occupations excluded from the Employment Standards Act (ESA)

A few highlights to keep in mind:

    • Employee must have worked with the employer for at least 90 days to be eligible for the paid sick days.
    • Sick leave cannot be banked
    • Employer needs to pay employees their regular wages for these days. 
    • The days do not have to be taken consecutively.
    • Employer may request reasonably sufficient proof of illness.

How is payment calculated?

    • Workers will be paid an average of what they earned in the past 30 days.
    • Applicable for employees paid hourly, commission and part-time employees.

This post has been prepared for general information purposes. It is not advice. The information presented may not fit your unique situation, please consult one of our trusted business advisors at RHN CPA for further clarification and interpretation of your circumstances.